The Kaikoura Golf Club was born on April 9, 1911 when the population of Kaikoura stood at 350. Initially 39 members formed the first season opening when the 9 hole course was then located at the South Bay Domain and criss-crossed the main highway toward what is now the Caves Restaurant.
In the year of 1935, after a lot of hard toil and a wonderful effort by the members, a new 9 hole course (along with completed clubhouse) opened at the present location near the Kowhai River. In 1958 three extra holes were added with a further three holes being added in 1960 extending the course to 5166 metres. In 1963 another landmark was reached with the first complete season of playing over 18 holes.
Increasing membership in 1966, then limited to 108, forced the club to consider a new building and location for the clubhouse. Saturday April 13 1968 saw the culmination of another tremendous achievement for the club with the opening of the new clubhouse at its present location. The course layout underwent a further change in 1977 and other more minor changes followed in later years to improve the picturesque links course.